Minnesnowta? Not so much.

16Mar12

A couple of weeks ago my friend and fellow blogger DancingBeastie wrote about the uncharacteristic lack of snow in Scotland. I promised her that my next post would be in her honor, and that it would contain plenty of snow photos. (March is usually the snowiest month in Minnesota, after all …)

And yet, as I type this, I’m wearing a short-sleeved linen shirt and sandals. We’ve shattered several temperature records in the past few days, and tomorrow it looks like we’ll surpass 80 degrees Fahrenheit (27 degrees Celsius, to my European friends).

As much as I hate winter in Minnesota, the early spring has left me unsettled. It just feels wrong, somehow. Normally at this time of the year the first few bulbs would just be starting to peek out of the snow.

But today, I instead spotted my first butterfly.

Maybe this year is just an anomaly, a blip on the long-term radar. Or maybe it’s the canary in the coal mine of climate change. If it’s the latter, we may already be too late. Still … it can’t hurt to be a little nicer to the planet anyway.

I’m putting up this post as a time capsule of sorts, with the hope of looking back at it next year as I’m reaching for the snow shovel.

In the meantime, my dear DB, here are a few of the snow photos I’d promised. Greetings from the state formerly known as Minnesnowta!



8 Responses to “Minnesnowta? Not so much.”

  1. 1 thewondermya

    Wow, some of your pictures are absolutely amazing !!! Wonderful !

    • 2 hmunro

      Aw, thanks so much! It’s what I do to amuse myself when it’s too cold to do much else. :)

  2. I like the time capsule idea, we’ve used a family kitchen calender for as long as I can remember and since I’ve hoarded them they work as a sort of time capsule too, it’s fun looking back at the same date ten years or so ago to see what we were doing then. :-)

    • 4 hmunro

      This is precisely why I keep all of my old calendars, Sallyann! As you say: It’s wonderful to be able to go back and re-experience a moment in time. (Though at this moment, I’m wishing you a wonderful day ahead! :)

  3. 5 dancingbeastie

    Oh, Heather, I am chuffed to bits! (As President Obama would say. ;)) I’m blushing here at my kitchen table, you know? THANK you SO much for this much needed fix of snow, photographed with your usual striking artistry.

    But I can’t begrudge your early spring when I see your shot of that butterfly: it is exquisite. It looks as if it’s been dipped in liquid gold. Whatever it is, we don’t have them here!

    By the way, I am a calendar/ diary hoarder too, and have kept track of Spring for years. Blog posts may be more carbon friendly, but I still have an archivist’s preference for tangible records.

    Hope you are having a lovely St. Patrick’s Day! :)

  4. 6 XpatScot

    Australia has had the coldest (well, coolest in temperature terms) and wettest summer in a decade this year, the warmest days coming in the first week of autumn (fall, to my american friends). But the meteorologists tell us that this is caused by back-to-back La Niñas, rather than permanent climate change. Suits me, though; because I don’t like hot weather anyway. Just goes to prove that you can’t displease everyone.

    Erin go Bragh :-)

  5. The weather’s been very strange this year. Hope summer’s not a washout.

  6. Awesome post & beautiful photographs! Last year at this time we were shoveling snow, but today, we are planning our raised garden bed and fertilizing the grass right now. I don’t know how we became blessed with this weather, but we’re loving it! Being able to go outside with flip flops on and NO coat is so great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,613 other followers

